Pick Songwriters Brains

Have you ever wanted to just pick someone’s brain just to see what they were thinking when the did something? I have two people I would love to just sit and talk to for one hour. They are both songwriters. Some would say that they might be two of the greatest songwriters in history. Actually, it’s three songwriters. Two of them were a team, but, sadly, one member of that team died long ago.

beatles-john-lennon-paul-amp-john-paul-and-john-paul-mccartney-favim-com-132862

The first songwriter I would love to talk to is Sir Paul McCartney. He, and his songwriting partner, John Lennon, penned some of the most iconic songs in history. “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds.” “A Day In The Life.” “Hey, Jude.” “The Long And Winding Road.” And, of course, “Strawberry Fields Forever.” I would love to ask Sir Paul if he even remembers writing some of those songs. The 60s were a time of excessive drug use, and, the title of one of the songs just oozes with Acid. I would ask him what it was like to sit in a room with John Lennon and bounce ideas for songs off of each other. I think it would be an awesome conversation.

Prince-performing-on-stag-007

The next person I would love to sit down with is Prince. I have been listening to his music since 1983. I know, I’m old. But, his music is timeless. When “1999” starts (if they play the whole song, that is) with that distorted voice imploring us not to worry, we are safe and that The Voice only wants us to have some fun, that is exactly what we do. This man has put out more music than most other musicians. Supposedly, he has a “vault” containing enough music that, when this genius dies, we could still get music until our generation is gone. Who else can say that?

Now, most people, when they think of Prince, only two songs come to mind: “Purple Rain” and “When Doves Cry.” While those are great songs, he has done so much more. If you get the chance, pick up “Parade” from 1986, and take a listen to “Sometimes It Snows In April.” Or, pick up “Sign ‘O’ The Times” from 1987, and listen to “Forever In My Life” or “The Cross.” My personal favorite was on the “Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic” album. “Wherever U Are, Whatever U Do” speaks right to the heart. I love his rocking song too, like, “Peach,” “Rock & Roll’s Alive (And It Lives In Minneapolis),” and of course “She’s Always In My Hair.” I think I would need more than an hour to talk to him.

Well, that’s my thoughts for today.

About Steven Stone

Conservative, God fearing Trump supporter. I have my own opinion, and would like it if you respect it. I always respect anyone else's opinion, no matter how uninformed or stupid it is. (Sarcasm)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

